Skip to main content

Welcome Back for 2015-2016

EKU Department Government Beckham Hall 2015 paraegal

Welcome back for Fall 2015!  The Department of Government is happy to welcome back our returning students and welcome all our incoming freshmen for the class of 2019.  As always, the faculty have been busy over the summer -planning classes, trying to enjoy vacations, and for three new faculty members, moving to Richmond.

Please welcome the newest additions to the Department of Government: Dr. Chris Cyr, who joins us to teach International Relations, Terrorism and Political Violence, and Global Relations; Dr. Darrin Wilson, who joins us to teach Budgeting and Finance and Community Development; and Sabrina Riles, who joins us to teach Human Resources.  As always, we'll have more about them over the coming weeks.

There's a lot going on at EKU and the Department of Government as we head into the new school year.  As always, EKU is proud to highlight its commitment to academic excellence.  At Convocation on August 18, President Benson made a note of our own Mock Trial team's 11th place finish at National's last year.  He also highlighted EKU's continued recognition for excellence in educating veterans, a diverse student body, and especially our first-generation students, anf for the fifth year we've been ranked among the top regional schools in the South.

Across the university we're seeing big changes, with plans for the soon-to-be completed Reading Room of the library, construction of the new pedestrian entrance to campus right next to our offices in McCreary, and a general revitalization of many of our older buildings.

In the DoG itself is expecting some big changes, too.  As part of the renovations to campus, we are expecting to move to new offices in the Beckham building, next door to our current offices in McCreary.  We also have several working groups looking at aspects of the depaatment over the next year.  We'll have more when they report.

As always, follow us on Facebook and Twitter, and keep your eyes here for updates throughout the year.

Welcome back everyone!


*Photo Credit: Matthew Howell.  Top Row, Left to Right: Ozan Kalkan, Matthew Howell, Randall Swain, Darrin Wilson; Middle Row: Brenda Meyring, Dan Bennett, Joe Gershtenson, Steve Barracca, Linda Gosnell, Lynnette Noblitt, Linda Wimberly; Front Row: LeAnn Beaty, Chris Cyr, Anne Cizmar, Meena Mohanty.  Not pictured: Sara Sims, Sabrina Riles.

Published on August 24, 2015

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/